Stuck trying to get openvpn to work on a enigma2 dreambox [SOLVED]

edited November 2016 in General VPN Support Posts: 2

[SOLVED] Changed my dns servers from ISP's default to Googles, 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.


now works perfectly


Trying to get openvpn working with private internet access on a VU+ Enigma2 satellite box


Followed a few tutorials, installed openvpn, copied the 4 files over (ca.rsa.4096.crt, crl.rsa.4096.pem, client.conf, password.txt)


before running openvpn I can ping www.google.com and 8.8.8.8 but once I run openvpn the DNS lookup fails to work.


I can ping 8.8.8.8 but pinging www.google.com times out.


the log file generates the following


Mon Nov 7 23:53:47 2016 OpenVPN 2.3.4 mipsel-oe-linux-gnu [SSL (OpenSSL)] [LZO] [EPOLL] [MH] [IPv6] built on Oct 9 2016

Mon Nov 7 23:53:47 2016 library versions: OpenSSL 1.0.2g 1 Mar 2016, LZO 2.09

Mon Nov 7 23:53:47 2016 WARNING: file '/etc/openvpn/password.txt' is group or others accessible

Mon Nov 7 23:53:47 2016 UDPv4 link local: [undef]

Mon Nov 7 23:53:47 2016 UDPv4 link remote: [AF_INET]104.238.169.74:1197

Mon Nov 7 23:53:47 2016 WARNING: this configuration may cache passwords in memory -- use the auth-nocache option to prevent this

Mon Nov 7 23:53:56 2016 [0e587d5f39b7bc741bd21a90f3ed33bf] Peer Connection Initiated with [AF_INET]104.238.169.74:1197

Mon Nov 7 23:53:59 2016 TUN/TAP device tun0 opened

Mon Nov 7 23:53:59 2016 do_ifconfig, tt->ipv6=0, tt->did_ifconfig_ipv6_setup=0

Mon Nov 7 23:53:59 2016 /sbin/ifconfig tun0 10.22.10.6 pointopoint 10.22.10.5 mtu 1500

Mon Nov 7 23:53:59 2016 Initialization Sequence Completed

Tue Nov 8 00:01:02 2016 event_wait : Interrupted system call (code=4)

Tue Nov 8 00:01:02 2016 /sbin/ifconfig tun0 0.0.0.0

Tue Nov 8 00:01:02 2016 SIGTERM[hard,] received, process exiting



Can anybody help? Its doing my head in


TIA 


Ian

Post edited by vampsthevampyre on

Comments

  • edited November 2016 Posts: 281
    Hi.
    It's probably due to your .conf file.

    A few observations -
    1. Do not use the Google DNS servers, use the PIA ones (ie. never trust Google!)
    2. You do not need the strong encryption certificates - use the "normal" ones.

    Try this:


    Make a file called login.txt with you username and login on seprate lines, eg:

    p1234567
    abcdefgh


    Make a .conf file

    client
    dev tun
    proto udp
    remote us-california.privateinternetaccess.com 1198
    resolv-retry infinite
    nobind
    persist-key
    persist-tun
    cipher aes-128-cbc
    auth sha1
    tls-client
    remote-cert-tls server
    auth-nocache
    auth-user-pass /etc/openvpn/login.txt
    comp-lzo
    verb 1
    reneg-sec 0
    ca /etc/openvpn/ca.rsa.2048.crt
    crl-verify /etc/openvpn/crl.rsa.2048.pem
    log /etc/openvpn/openvpn.log


    copy the .conf, .txt, .pem and .crt files  to /etc/openvpn
    Start openvpn from sat. box and that's it!

    Once working, you might want to try adding this line to your conf file:

    block-outside-dns # Stop DNS Leaks

    I haven't got around to seeing if that works yet!

    Vipper





    Post edited by PiaVipper on
  • Posts: 1
    hi, I have a zgemma h2s enigma2 box. I have successfully followed instructions and all is working its just my speed is really slow with vpn running hopefully you can help? thanks.
  • Posts: 354
    @PiaVippe, I did a test using block-outside-dns and results showed that it indeed worked. I have place somewhere in the forum the test procedures and results. So I can say it is trust worthy.
  • Posts: 4
    hi all
    i'm trying to setup on enigma 2 for vu duo.
    tried all the settings from the various threads ..
    the vpn will run - but as soon as i start openvpn my itv stops??
    and this was the site recommended by them?

    any assistance would be appreciated

  • Posts: 281
    How can the VOP be running beofre you start openvpn?
    We need a load more details before you'll get any help - did you follow my "solution" (worked for me on a VU Solo2)?
    But to be honest, best anbd failsafe solution is to get yourself a dedicated router/access point (I recommend the GLi one:
    https://www.gl-inet.com/ar300m/)
    No connection to them-just a satisfied customer.

  • Posts: 4
    Hi PiaVipper Sorry what do you mean by VOP
    i've tried the 'solution' and the setup from above and the initial setup from cory thomson
    i've got the recommended download files and not the 'strong' 
    running open vix on the box

    here is a log
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:33 2017 TCP/UDP: Preserving recently used remote address: [AF_INET]198.8.80.196:1198
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:33 2017 UDP link local: (not bound)
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:33 2017 UDP link remote: [AF_INET]198.8.80.196:1198
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:36 2017 WARNING: 'link-mtu' is used inconsistently, local='link-mtu 1558', remote='link-mtu 1542'
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:36 2017 WARNING: 'cipher' is used inconsistently, local='cipher AES-128-CBC', remote='cipher BF-CBC'
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:36 2017 [c9db94443ca88f9f5bb4bf98fffe1877] Peer Connection Initiated with [AF_INET]198.8.80.196:1198
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:37 2017 auth-token received, disabling auth-nocache for the authentication token
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:37 2017 TUN/TAP device tun0 opened
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:37 2017 do_ifconfig, tt->did_ifconfig_ipv6_setup=0
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:37 2017 /sbin/ip link set dev tun0 up mtu 1500
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:37 2017 /sbin/ip addr add dev tun0 local 10.39.10.10 peer 10.39.10.9
    Sat Sep  2 22:14:37 2017 Initialization Sequence Completed
    Sat Sep  2 22:17:46 2017 event_wait : Interrupted system call (code=4)
    Sat Sep  2 22:17:46 2017 /sbin/ip addr del dev tun0 local 10.39.10.10 peer 10.39.10.9
    Sat Sep  2 22:17:47 2017 SIGTERM[hard,] received, process exiting
  • Posts: 281
    Sorry, I meant V P N (typo).
    Did you try my conf file? I had it working first time when I tried.
  • Posts: 4
    ha, no problem
    was wondering.  yeah i tried your config file. and when it goes green to 'running' about 10 seconds later it kills the feel to iptv

    sorry my last post wasn't entirely clear..
    when openvpn is 'stopped' tv works fine 
    as soon as i press start it kills the feed.

    is there a particular location i should choose when creating the config? i know you have california..

  • Posts: 5
    leahyt8 said:
    ha, no problem
    was wondering.  yeah i tried your config file. and when it goes green to 'running' about 10 seconds later it kills the feel to iptv

    sorry my last post wasn't entirely clear..
    when openvpn is 'stopped' tv works fine 
    as soon as i press start it kills the feed.

    is there a particular location i should choose when creating the config? i know you have california..

    Hi Leahyt8
    Did you ever get to fix this problem?
    I have exactly the same issue. When the GREEN light says running the stream just stops. When i stop the OpenVPN  to the RED stopped symbol, it starts to stream again.

    Confused. Like you I was wondering if it is anything to do with the VPN location.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Ashy22
  • edited September 12 Posts: 281
    Off topic....but do what I finally did - get yourself a VPN mini router (I got mine from Gli - https://www.gl-inet.com/). You can even power this from your sat box if it has 2 x free USB sockets using a "dual" lead.
    This way you can protect yourself from your prying ISP on your Satellite box and any other device that you chose to connect via the mini router,

    Post edited by PiaVipper on
  • Posts: 5
    Thanks for that PiaVipper.

    I managed to get the OpenVPN working on the VU+ solo2 reciever.

    I was putting my ordinary username and password into the password.conf file and not the new generated PPTP/L2TP/SOCKS username and password.

    I had to change the file with the openvpn details from the USA to The Netherlands to get the connection rate up.

    Sorry if its a bit garbled but i am new to the VPN world.

    Ok back to the VPN mini router. 

    How does it connect to the main router and the satellite box that takes the streams from the main router?

    Thanks

    Ashy22


  • Posts: 281
    >> How does it connect to the main router and the satellite box that takes the streams from the main router?

    You set it up as an Access Point. It connects to your main ISP router and Satellite box by either ethernet cable or wireless (mine sits on top of my sat. box, powered by a dual USB cable and connected by cable. It connects to my main router by wireless). A piece of cake to set-up as the router has it's own GUI.

    All my internet traffic (sat box, laptop, Android TV stick etc.) goes through the mini router and thus, the VPN).
  • Posts: 5
    PiaVipper said:
    >> How does it connect to the main router and the satellite box that takes the streams from the main router?

    You set it up as an Access Point. It connects to your main ISP router and Satellite box by either ethernet cable or wireless (mine sits on top of my sat. box, powered by a dual USB cable and connected by cable. It connects to my main router by wireless). A piece of cake to set-up as the router has it's own GUI.

    All my internet traffic (sat box, laptop, Android TV stick etc.) goes through the mini router and thus, the VPN).
    Thanks for that PiaVipper.

    I will order one and let you know how i go on.
  • Posts: 281
    There is a great user forum over there too.
  • Posts: 5
    Cheers bud.

  • Posts: 4
    ashy22  did you change anything else apart from the PPTP/L2TP/SOCKS username and password??

    i'm using them but still no further forward!
    NL server too
    thanks 
    T
  • Posts: 5
    Hi Leahyt8

    No just the PPTP/L2TP/SOCKS username and password and rebooted the VU+ box

Sign In or Register to comment.