VPN and ISP ToS

Hi, total noob here. Just wanted to check if using a VPN would violate the following terms of service:

"Every computer connected to the Network must only use the configuration setting assigned to it by the IT Office. This includes a unique IP address and a network mask. These settings are provided automatically by the [ISP]’s DHCP server. Under no circumstances must an IP
address other than the one issued for that computer be used with that computer, not even for a brief test."

My understanding is that VPN masks the IP address of the sites you visit, but I'm not sure if it does anything to the user's IP address and network mask.

Comments

We can't really tell for sure because those terms are fairly broad, but from a technical point of view you should be fine. The way PIA and VPNs in general work is that we establish a plain old regular network connection to our servers using your existing connection, and then wrap you entire computer's traffic through this connection. So from the ISP's point of view, you're not changing IP address you're just connecting to PIA and exchanging a lot of traffic.

(Slightly off-topic, but the fact that they put this kind of notice in their ToS is a bit worrying because their network just shouldn't accept such an invalid configuration in the first place. They're essentially telling that their network is misconfigured and to please not abuse it...)
    The quoted T&C are garbage and can safely be ignored, IMO.
  • edited November 8 Posts: 85