tap0901.sys causes BSOD

Hey there.

This is my first time posting in here. I'm getting kind of desperate here because neither Microsoft, my retailer, PIA, Acer or any one can seem to figure out a solution to my problem.

My issue: my Acer laptop (Travelmate X349-G2-M) keeps BSOD'ing. Usually the stop code is PAGE FAULT IN NONPAGED AREA.

When using driver verifier it states that tap0901.sys is the culprit. The tap0901.sys is obiously an integral part of my Private Internet Access VPN-program, so I can't just remove it from the PC.
When I'm not using driver verifier WhoCrashed reports the Windows 10 kernel as the culprit, which I know realistically can't cause the PC to BSOD and that it must be caused by another driver.

The problem usually appears when the PC has been put to sleep and wakes up again. When using the verifier it shuts down at the exact moment PIA is about to say "you are connected". The TAP-driver is updated to the latest version on the OpenVPN-website.

All drivers are updated to the latest version. Chkdsk has been performed several times. Scannow reports no issues. DISM has been run several times. Memtest 86+ shows no errors in RAM after 13 passes. Avira reports no vira or malware. Windows Defender is completely turned off so no interference with that from Avira. Intel SSD Toolbox reports no SSD errors. Windows 10 has been reinstalled twice.

Can anybody see what I'm missing? I hope to hear from some experts or someone that has encountered the same issue maybe.

Earlier I had a Lenovo u330p with Windows 10 and PIA installed and never ever encountered any issues with that. I just can't see what I'm doing wrong.

Comments

Go to device manager/Network Adapter and get the driver version and date. I know you said 9.0.1 but just want to confirm. I looked on my machine and am using 9.0.0.21 dtd 11/5/2014. You might want to look for that driver and see if it helps.