Torrents were downloading even when PIA Client disconnected

edited January 2015 in P2P Support Posts: 3
I'm very new to this PIA business.

My goal
To anonymize myself from my ISP and safely download torrents.

What I have done:
My PIA Client has the following settings:

I'm NOT using a proxy.

My concern:
  • I was downloading a few torrents through BitTorrent 7.7.3 on Windows 7 64-bit.
  • The PIA Client was running and the icon was dark green ("Connected")
  • I think I was on a bad server and intermittently the PIA icon would be light green ("Connecting"). When this happened, I was not able to browse, probably meaning the Kill Switch feature is working. However, my torrents were still running. This is very concerning to me because it would mean my IP is being leaked intermittently.
What I need:
I am looking for a solution to prevent this from happening and to anonymize myself.

[Also, if anyone has tips on how to increase download speeds, please let me know ;) I am only getting 250kbps max when I was able to get around 1Mbps before I started using PIA]

Post edited by whichseatcanitake on

Comments

• Two things you can do; use a torrent client that supports binding to network adapter such as qBittorrent (then bind to the TAP-Win32 adapter used by PIA), and use a firewall to block non-tunnel traffic:
    https://www.bestvpn.com/blog/10218/build-your-own-vpn-kill-switch-in-windows-comodo/
  • edited January 2015 Posts: 380
    You also might try setting your "Connection Type" in the client to UDP. Unless you have problems using UDP it's recommended since it is "faster".
    Post edited by heyitsme on
  • Two things you can do; use a torrent client that supports binding to network adapter such as qBittorrent (then bind to the TAP-Win32 adapter used by PIA), and use a firewall to block non-tunnel traffic:
    https://www.bestvpn.com/blog/10218/build-your-own-vpn-kill-switch-in-windows-comodo/
    Thanks for the link! :)