Network Manager v2
For our users that use our iOS and Android mobile application, we offer a unique advanced feature called Network Management Tool. This feature allows our users to configure how our application will behave on Connections to WiFi or Cellular networks.
Upon our recent update to our mobile application v3.8.0, we have updated the Network Management Tool. This feature can be found within the application settings for both iOS and Android.
Once enabled, you will see the option to “Manage automation”.
Once you tap “Manage automation”, you will be able to manage when the VPN will automatically connect and disconnect based on the different networks, or retain the connection of the previous network state when switching networks. Secure WiFi, Open WiFi, and Mobile data are the default options.
Secure WiFi is WiFi networks that you have previously accessed with the use of a password.
Open WiFi is considered Public WiFi, or networks that do not require a password to obtain access.
Mobile data is of course the data provided by your cellular carrier.
Upon tapping on any one of the available options, you are presented with options on how you want that specific network to react when your device is connected to it.
Always Connect VPN: The VPN will always automatically connect to networks with this setting enabled. You can tell “Always Connect VPN” is enabled for any network option if you see the “green” line at the top of the network box.
Always Disconnect VPN: The VPN will always disconnect when the device connects to networks with this setting. You can tell “Always Disconnect VPN” is enabled for any network option if you see the “red” line at the top of the network box.
Retain VPN State: Any network that is given the “Retain VPN State” will assume the state of the VPN based on the connection status of the prior network.
Example: If you set “Open WiFi” to “Always Connect VPN” and “Mobile data” to “Retain VPN State”, the VPN will stay connected when you disconnect from “Open WiFi”. You can tell “Retain VPN State” is enabled for any network option if you see the “blue” line at the top of the network box.
At the bottom of the Network Manager, “Add new rule” can be seen.
Here you will be able to see the list of available WiFi networks in your area that can be added to the Network Management tool.
Tapping a network on this page will bring up the same options discussed above, Always Connect VPN, Always Disconnect VPN, and Retain VPN State.
Once an option is selected, you will be able to see the network added to the Network Management menu with its corresponding rule in place.
Any network added can always be removed by tapping said network and then tapping remove.