Skip to main content

Desktop Application Split Tunneling Feature - Knowledgebase / Technical / Application Settings and Features / Application & Features - PIA Support Portal

Desktop Application Split Tunneling Feature

Authors list

Desktop Application Split Tunneling Feature


Beginning in Beta v1.8.0, we are introducing a new feature to the Split Tunnel feature called  Inverse Split Tunneling. This will allow apps to be configured to use the VPN only or bypass the VPN. This will be found in the same location as before within the Network Preferences. 

If an app is selected to bypass the VPN, that application will operate normally whether the VPN is connected or disconnected.

If an app is selected to Use VPN, that application will connect when the VPN is connected. In all other cases the application will be blocked from reaching the internet when the VPN is closed or disconnected. 

Enabling Split Tunneling 

macOS

In order to use this feature on a Mac OS, users must approve this feature within their OS Security Preferences, to do so please follow the below instructions:

Step 1: Checkmark the Split Tunnel Feature and then select the “Security Preferences” option that appears below the feature. 

Note: the application will uncheck the Split Tunnel box until this approval has been made.

Step 2: Within the “System Extension Blocked” message select “Open Security Preferences”

Step 3: Once the Security Preferences window opens you will see a message at the bottom of the “General Tab” stating that the "System software form developer “London Trust Media Incorporated”  was blocked from loading."

In order to make changes to Allow your System to run the Split Tunnel Feature, Select the Lock Icon at the bottom of the screen and enter in your Administrator password ( If prompted)

Step 4: Once you have been allowed to make changes select “Allow” Next to the message stating that the "System software form developer “London Trust Media Incorporated” was blocked from loading." The message will then disappear and you can then relock the lock and navigate back to the PIA Application and start using the Split Tunnel Feature. 

Windows

For Windows users, once you have checked Marked the Split Tunnel Feature a User Account Control window will appear, asking for you to allow this application to make changes to your device. Select “Yes” and then start using the Split Tunnel Feature. 


To see examples of what to exclude with our Split Tunnel feature, Please review the following article: Split Tunnel App Examples.