How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently and Temporarily

Posted on Dec 4, 2018 by Summer Hirst
Share Tweet

delete facebook

Facebook – a world where everyone is happy and successful and the pressure to show off your personal successes is just too overwhelming. But that’s not the only reason to leave it. If you’re privacy conscious, you might want to say goodbye to this virtual world because of the user data that it sells to advertisers.

Before you leave Facebook temporarily (deactivation) or permanently (deletion), you should know these things.

  1. You can block specific people or stalkers
  2. You can change your privacy settings to hide your posts from people
  3. You can customize your newsfeed to get the right content

If you still want to go off Facebook, you need to decide whether it’s going to be temporary or permanent.
 

Deactivation

When you deactivate your ID, your information will be hidden from everyone. None of your friends will be able to see anything posted by you. But your data will be there. So if you change your mind later, you can get it back just the way it was.

If you’re not sure about leaving Facebook or if you’re planning to quit it only for some time, a temporary deactivation is the best option.
 

Here’s how you can deactivate Facebook temporarily.

  1. Click the down arrow on the top right corner
  2. Click on Settings
  3. By default, it will open General Settings.
  4. Go to Manage Account
  5. Click on deactivate your account

Your account will be deactivated. And when you’re ready to restore Facebook again, just log in using your username and password.
 

Deletion

When you delete your Facebook account, your information will be lost. So every post and photo you posted there will be gone and cannot be restored later. Don’t delete your Facebook until you really mean it.

If you’re mad at a friend and want to go off Facebook, account deactivation is a better option. But if you want to leave Facebook due to privacy reasons, you might want to go for deletion. In any case, keep in mind that you cannot restore your old photos, videos, and other data you posted.

Before you delete your account, it’s best to have a copy of your data.

  1. Click the down arrow on the top right corner
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Click on Your Facebook Information in the left panel
  4. In that tab, you’ll see Download Your Information. Click on it.
  5. It will give you options to download the data you want. Select all of it and click on Create File

Now you can delete your account.

  1. Go to the Facebook deletion page
  2. Click on Delete Account

While your information will be removed from Facebook, there will be some details remaining. For example, if you chatted with someone, they will still have the chats. You can contact them individually and request them to delete the chats.

About Summer Hirst

Summer is a tech writer and a security enthusiast. She is also a software analyst and has reviewed several applications. A technology lover, she has worked in many IT-related industries. She keeps an eye on the cyber world and writes about the latest happenings around the globe.

VPN Service